dave's 365 project

4/365 don’t try this at home

Posted in Landscapes, Places by Dave on January 4, 2010

After 10 days off work, I had trouble getting back into the work groove today. I was discombobulated all day. Burgundy dress shoes and the black belt proved it. Later in the day I got some very troubling news about work. But that’s for another day.

On my way into the office I was wondering what my picture should be today. Then, out of nowhere this amazing sunrise occurs.  As I was traveling on the freeway, I grabbed my camera bag, unzipped it, put on the lens, and decided I was going to catch this sunrise.  Yep, I’m THAT guy on the freeway.

In case you’re wondering, it’s very challenging to drive the car with your left hand, hold the 40D in your right hand, and put your right arm over your left arm to point the camera out the window. Then there’s that whole problem of trying to control the focus point. I got a few snaps in like that but decided it was too dangerous to continue.

Plan B was to put the camera on the dash and shoot out the front windshield. Much safer. Nope. In an instant, the camera slid off the dash, landed at my feet, and the cars power shut down…. I thought the camera was hitting my brakes because I was slowing down so quickly. So I hit the gas. Nothing.  As I’m busy trying to steer the car from the fast lane to the side of the freeway, I realized the car engine was off. What? On its way down, the camera knocked the ignition key to the “off” position and knocked the transmission into neutral.  I finally got it all together and went on my merry way.

Told ya I was discombobulated today. And lucky. I am safe and so is my camera. Don’t try this at home. Really.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bjquan said, on January 4, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Too funny. I’ve noticed that this 365 project may be as dangerous as texting as I am now always looking for a potential shot for the day and I’m sure I’m not holding the steadiest line. Your story takes the cake though! Very nice shot. Glad it didn’t cost more.

  2. Steve said, on January 4, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    Totally unique. Beautiful color!

    That looks really awesome but dude…. don’t do that again.

  3. Jessica said, on January 5, 2010 at 9:00 am

    beautiful shot! I love the colors, and I too am that person driving down the freeway/street with my camera on the passanger seat JUST IN CASE

  4. golden said, on January 6, 2010 at 6:08 am

    ha! like hunting fr sharks…

  5. […] I noticed the downtown skyscrapers while going over the bridge.  After my last driving experience (seen here), I decided to pull over to take this shot.  I’m not sure it was much safer.  The other […]


Leave a Reply

