dave's 365 project

7/365 – “f8 and be there”

Posted in Places by Dave on January 7, 2010

The BCS Game is tonight so went through downtown LA to avoid traffic. That might be the first time anyone ever went through downtown LA to avoid traffic.

I had a meeting in a 10 story building today and was excited to see if I could get to the roof for a skyline picture. After ignoring a “no trespassing” sign and propping open an access door to the roof, I was very excited to shoot the skyline.

While climbing the stairs, I got a little nervous… so quickly busted out the camera and took a few shots. Got it…the vast skyline, it was a beautiful view.  But the pictures suck.  Not sure why. I think there is no focus point. They’re just boring. I learned something I think. You have to actually take a picture of something.

On my way home I saw this interesting building. It’s the Central Los Angeles Area High School #9 for the Visual and Performing Arts.

I Pulled out the camera, put it on f8, and took one quick shot. I didn’t even put the camera up to my eye. I’m glad I did because it’s better than my rooftop shots. F8 and be there is a good rule. It’s more about the “be there”  than the F8 though.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve said, on January 7, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    It looks like a water slide with a contemporary design. What is it though – really? I think the architect knew that people would just stare at it wondering. Gotta love LA for this sort of thing

  2. Dave said, on January 7, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I just looked it up and edited my post. It’s the Central Los Angeles Area High School #9 for the Visual and Performing Arts of the Los Angeles Unified School District.

    I did it again, this shot was taken out my window while on the 101 freeway. This project is making me realize how much time I spend in my car.

  3. Socal M said, on January 7, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Nice one. Are you feeling the weight of “358 to go”?


Leave a Reply

