dave's 365 project

13/365 – Dead Tired

Posted in concepts by Dave on January 13, 2010

I like being in sales. It’s like fishing, and I like fishing. You can go for long periods of time with no action. Then, it seems like when the fish hit, they all hit at once. Sales is like that too.

It doesn’t matter what’s going on when they hit. You may be tired, you may be hungry, it may be time to go home, you can be low on fuel, and none of that matters when they hit. You grab the rod and start reeling. Period.

I had four big sales meetings today spread across southern California.  Started in OC at 5am and went to the first two in San Diego. Did a quick 90 mile jaunt up to north OC for the 3rd meeting. No time for lunch….and I love lunch. The final meeting was in LA.

We’ll land the first fish and it’s a keeper for sure. The second one popped off the hook. We’ll be reeling the 3rd one for a while but think we can bring it to the boat eventually. The 4th one is a big fish but I’m pretty sure my line is way too light to get that one on the boat.

I’m dead tired.

Technical info – I just popped two off camera flashes at the ceiling. One to the left of the bed, one to the right. It’s quick and easy and provides good light. I needed quick and easy tonight.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tiffany said, on January 13, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    This is creative, just fantastic. I like it, a lot.

  2. Steve said, on January 13, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    I was wondering how your day went…

    Brilliant post and I love the picture! Very strong symbolism and perfectly “suited” imagery. Your story “ties” it all together so well too.

    Well done my friend!

  3. Susan said, on January 14, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    This is my favorite so far. I love it! Glad to hear you have fish on.


Leave a Reply

