dave's 365 project

Day 37 – Primary Colors

Posted in Things by Dave on February 6, 2010

Another rained out soccer game gave me plenty of time to goof around. I’ve wanted to try this for a while.

Tech info:

The 3 wine glasses are sitting on an extra piece of granite that is tilted. To get them to hold, I put double-sided tape on the bottom. I filled each glass so that gravity created a straight line.  From there, I just tilted the camera to the same angle.

For light, I had a speedlite to the left and right of the glasses at low power. The flashes are zoomed in and that’s what is creating the gray shadows on the background. With the flash zoomed in, the light didn’t cover the entire background. I tried a few with the flashes zoomed out. That created a completely white background but wasn’t as interesting looking.The background is just a white poster board.

I spent about an hour doing this because I kept getting weird reflections on the wine glasses that were bugging me. I finally just closed the garage door and turned off the light to shoot and all the weird reflections went away. Once I figured that out, it was really easy.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Christy said, on February 6, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    That is pretty cool.

  2. Steve said, on February 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Really creative! Superb image.

  3. […] I used the same table and similar set up as this one. […]


Leave a Reply

