dave's 365 project

Day 41 – Ready to take on the world

Posted in People by Dave on February 10, 2010

She’s 8 years old and ready to take on the world. Really, just ask her.

40D | f1.8 | 1 sec | ISO 100 | 85mm

Tech info – I’ve never tried this look before and I sure didn’t do it very well.  I wanted her sharp and the background very blurry yet bright.

There is a flash in an umbrella to camera left at very low power. I think 1/32. The light coming from camera right is a street light. I set the lens to the max aperture of f1.8 for the maximum blurred background. . I started off at 1/20th of a second shutter speed. The background went black and was way too dark. I kept slowing down the shutter speed until the background burned in. It took one full second.

Now that I had the exposure I wanted, I created a new problem. I can’t hand hold the camera for a full second and get a sharp shot. A tripod would have been very useful but didn’t have one handy. I should have moved my ISO way up but didn’t think about it. Whoops.  I need to move very fast when shooting my kids. They have the patience of…well, kids. I only took 8 total shots and she was gone.

I did learn some things though:

Find a willing model. Use a tripod. Find background lights that are closer to the subject. Bump up the ISO. Focusing at night is really hard. Next time, I’ll bring a flashlight to give the camera something to focus on.

Any other suggestions are welcome!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. goldensindy said, on February 11, 2010 at 11:14 am

    David this is awesome. You captured her essence perfectly.

  2. dorisrudddesigns said, on February 15, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Nice shot! She looks like she IS ready to take on the world. I found your blog through Flickr. You’re doing a great job on your 365 project. I’m doing one too and added this link to my blogroll. I’ll be back!


Leave a Reply

