dave's 365 project

Day 47 – Oil & Water

Posted in concepts, Things by Dave on February 16, 2010

tech info:

This is just a glass dish over a colorful shirt. The dish is held up by two glasses so there’s about 5 inches between the shirt and the dish. In the dish is water and cooking oil mixed together.

There is a speedlite aimed at the shirt for light. I just stood over this and zoomed all the way in to 105mm.   I cropped this picture in pretty far to make the bubbles look bigger. I bet a macro lens would look really good. It’s very easy to do. In Lightroom, I boosted up the blacks, vibrancy, saturation, and sharpened.

set up shot:

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. betty said, on February 16, 2010 at 9:52 pm

    This came out really cool, you have sooo many bubbles, I did one of these and used my 70-200mm lens with a extension tube to get in close. Great job!

  2. Dave said, on February 16, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    thanks. I forgot to mention that I stirred up the oil to get the smaller bubbles. They were too big until I mixed it up.

  3. Steve said, on February 16, 2010 at 10:36 pm

    This is excellent!! Really a cool composition.

  4. dorisrudddesigns said, on February 17, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Love, love it. I’m going to do this. Thanks for the idea! AND, I have a macro lens. Yippee!


Leave a Reply

