dave's 365 project

Day 50 – Wind Power Generation

Posted in Landscapes, Things by Dave on February 19, 2010

On the way out to Palm Springs yesterday, I decided I wanted to shoot these on the way home today. You see hundreds of these off the freeway but they’re not so easy to get to and there are fences keeping you away.  Now I know why. It’s REALLY windy near them.  I know, Captain obvious right.

There is a storm coming in and I bet it was blowing 50mph. My car was shaking when I parked. The wind was blowing across the car and it took both hands and one foot to even open the car door. I literally couldn’t stand up when I got out of the car. It was stupid to even try. I paid for my stupidity with a full body sand blast that really hurt. Ultimately, I just took this picture out the window. It’s not my favorite picture but I am posting it out of spite.  I paid for this one.

This wind farm on the San Gorgonio Mountain Pass in the San Bernardino Mountains contains more than 4000 separate windmills and provides enough electricity to power Palm Springs and the entire Coachella Valley. That’s just cool.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. goldensindy said, on February 20, 2010 at 7:37 am

    ha, great story! like the sand blowing effect…

  2. Doris said, on February 21, 2010 at 3:01 pm

    Cool! I have a similar photo taken on a trip to Palm Springs (http://www.flickr.com/photos/drdesigns/4065569184/in/photostream/).

    Not near as good as yours. It’s a very cool spot to drive past. I bet getting out of the car and seeing them up close would be a great experience.

  3. Dave said, on February 21, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    Doris – I like like your picture….I think it’s on the other side of the freeway as the one I took. I couldn’t figure out how to get where those were. They’re much bigger too.

  4. Steve said, on February 22, 2010 at 7:18 am

    I love this photo – especially how the blowing sand creates a misty look and gives it a great feeling of depth. Glad you didn’t trash your gear.


Leave a Reply

