dave's 365 project

Day 74/365 – Amarone

Posted in Things by Dave on March 15, 2010

We got this bottle of wine the day we moved in our house 6 years ago as a gift. We never drank it. I don’t know why we haven’t.  It’s not like we haven’t had any wine since but this one never seems to make it to the table. It’s probably vinegar by now.

how it was shot – PITA (pain in the @ss).

I’ve always wanted to try this type of shot. It’s out of my system now.

I have a flash to the camera right with paper blocking reflections across the bottle. The flash is aimed at a white poster board to the camera left. That’s the reflection you see and is what is lighting the bottle.  It was really difficult managing the reflections. There must be an easier way but that was the best I could muster up tonight.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cin said, on March 16, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I like that with all the black and the shine. I’d like to see that with a person. Like with one of the girls face/eyes…

  2. DNB said, on March 16, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    The lighting is a home run and I bet it was harder than you let on. Drink the wine as a celebration….

  3. dorisrudddesigns said, on March 18, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    Ooooo, this is beautiful. I wish I knew how to use my 430EX remotely. I’d love to try a similar shot.


Leave a Reply

