dave's 365 project

Day 75 – Earthquake

Posted in concepts by Dave on March 16, 2010

So I was sleeping comfortably until our dog started barking loudly. He came running upstairs and jumped on me to ensure I was awake. I looked over at the clock and it was 4:04am. Then the bed starts shaking and the house is moaning.

It’s that semi familiar feeling of an earthquake.  While deciding if I should get up, I heard a loud crack and then everything started to settle back to normal. As we were swaying back to the normal position, kid number one starts crying.  Then number two starts crying. Next thing I know, I have a dog, two kids, and a wife laying in bed next to me.

Now I’m wide awake and waiting for an aftershock. Sleep is over. My day started with a magnitude 4.4 earthquake at 4:04am.

40D | 8 sec. | f4.0 | ISO 500 | 105mm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve said, on March 16, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Love this story! How ironic huh? What are the chances.

  2. goldensindy said, on March 17, 2010 at 3:25 am

    wow david do you think it’s a sign?

  3. bobolink221 said, on March 17, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Glad you guys are safe. Good representation with the image.
    When I lived in Cali I’d only learn there was an earthquake from people’s parents, on the East Coast, who’d hear it on the news-wire and call to see if we were Ok. I never felt it.


Leave a Reply

