dave's 365 project

Day 90 – a day at the spa

Posted in People by Dave on March 31, 2010

The girls love getting their nails done. It’s so foreign to me but I’m adapting. We made a deal with them that if they do well in school, they can get their nails done once a quarter. Today was the payoff for them.

40D | 1/160s | f5.6 | ISO 100 | 100mm zoom

how it was shot – my Canon flash is set at 1/16th power. It  is shooting through a white shoot- thru umbrella to the right of the camera.

By shooting daily, I’m getting very quick at guessing the exposure and settings.  Reading the histogram on the camera also helps to eliminate any exposure errors. I can get the exposure I want in about 3-4 test shots these days and it makes it so much easier.

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. goldensindy said, on March 31, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    her hands are looking more grown up. i love black and white. did L get hers done too? i want to see L’s feet!

  2. Mel said, on March 31, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    love the easter eggs…have fun on your trip!!!

  3. Steve said, on April 1, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Too cute!

    You’ve got this b/w thing down. 😉 The light has a natural window light feel to it. I like it!

  4. Christophe said, on April 1, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Your work is an inspiration for me, I’ll try some of your explanations, thank you ..

  5. Mel said, on April 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    what are you using for your BW conversion – like Steve said, it’s perfect!

  6. Dave said, on April 1, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    @ goldensindy – yep, she got hers done too.

    @ Mel and Steve – thanks. I have recently discovered that backlighting gives a more natural window light effect. The BW was done in Photoshop CS3.

    @ Christophe – thanks for the huge compliment. Feel free to ask away and I’ll help the best I can.

  7. DNB said, on April 3, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I love the soft lighting. Nicely done

  8. dorisrudddesigns said, on April 11, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I love this! The light in this photo is wonderful. Getting your nails done is such a feminine, girly thing and you captured this moment wonderfully.

    Have fun on your trip!


Leave a Reply

