dave's 365 project

Day 119 – Angel Stadium

Posted in Landscapes, Places by Dave on April 29, 2010

I had a meeting right on the beach in Santa Monica today. The beach was uncrowded and there was an unusual gathering going on. A whole section of the beach was closed off. There were shade awnings and big lights set up.  Right away I realized it was a set for some sort of production.  I thought it was for a movie.

As I got closer I noticed the security guards keeping people away.  I used that as motivation to see if I could get in.  Hey, if people can sneak by the Secret Service into a State Dinner with Obama, I could certainly get by rent-a-cops on a public beach right?

I busted out my camera and put the flash and bigger lens on it….hoping to look more official. It worked. I walked right up to the security guards, looked them in the eyes, said “excuse me” with a determined look on my face, and walked right in.

It turns out ESPN was filming a commercial for the upcoming MLB All-Star game. It’s amazing what they go through to film a 30 second spot. Anyway, someone built a huge sand castle that is a very good replica of Angel Stadium in Anaheim.  They went to great lengths to capture every detail of the stadium. As I got close to the sand castle, it made some people a little nervous and they approached me. I just explained that I needed a couple pictures and assured them I wouldn’t disturb their work.  Snap, snap. Done.

Some days the project 365 are more fun than others. Today was fun.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. goldensindy said, on April 29, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    holy cow, great story! only a conti!

  2. Jill said, on April 30, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    That is too funny. Appearing confident works wonders.


Leave a Reply

