dave's 365 project

Day 183 – lily

Posted in Flower by Dave on July 2, 2010

We’re having our annual 4th of July party tomorrow and Liz bought some flowers.

Shooting every day has really sped up the whole process from setting up, taking the shot, and editing for me.  So I figured I’d try a texture to spice things up a little.

There is a flash shooting through a foldable softbox to the camera left. It’s my quick and easy go-to set up when I don’t have any ideas. I like it because it always produces good light. The added bonus is that it’s quick to set up and requires virtually no thought.

Set the flash to either 1/4 or 1/2 power and put the softbox about 3 feet away from the subject. My first test shot will be very close. Too bright? Move the light back a foot. Too dark, move it forward a foot. Simple.

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a Reply

