dave's 365 project

Day 268 – Irony

Posted in concepts, Places by Dave on September 26, 2010

The grand finale of our 4-day meeting was a motivational speaker. His theme was showing the power of the mind and breaking through mental barriers. The plan was that he would speak until 12:30pm and then we’d all be pumped up and ready for our 3pm flight home.

Part of his deal was that he could show anyone how to break a board with their bare hands. C’mon how cool is that? Really I can bust a board with my bare hands? I’m in. Show me how.

One person holds the board and another breaks it. I become the designated board holder. The deal was that after the first 10 people broke a board it would be my turn to do it.  Honestly, I had no desire to break mental barriers; I just wanted to be able to break a board with my bare hands. What a cool trick!

We get started and I’m holding the board between both hands. The first guy busts right threw it. I couldn’t believe how easy it was. I knew the guy so it wasn’t some sort of magic trick either. Awesome. Then the next guy just shatters the board. Wow. Here come the 3rd guy….a little less confident. His first swing is off and hits my fingers holding the board. Ouch sh%t, that hurt. I shook my hand out and gave him some encouragement to try it again.  From here, things get a little blurry.

He reaches back, swings hard, and busts right through the board. A piece shattered off and lodged right into my chin. I think his follow through wedged it deeper.  All I knew is that my blood went everywhere. It was a gory mess in front of almost 500 people.  I remained standing so felt pretty good about that at least.

I really wanted to go home so decided to keep my flight. The only other option was an emergency room visit in Dallas and another day away from home.  Nope. I’ll go with Plan B, thanks.

I cleaned it out and put butterfly stitches on the laceration to keep my flight home.  After landing  five hours later, I went straight to the emergency room near my house. I got 8 stitches, a mild concussion, and a great story.  However, I didn’t break any mental or physical barriers today.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Steve said, on September 26, 2010 at 5:48 pm

    Oh my god, that is the funniest thing I have heard in awhile! Next time just watch Mat Foley if you’re in need of a motivation speech:
    http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/down-by-the-river/243779/

  2. cindy said, on September 26, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    HA HA HA HA HA, what a great story!

  3. DaddyNoBucks said, on September 26, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Damn, what luck. I wonder if the speaker will come up with a new exercise as a result of this mishap?

  4. Betty said, on September 27, 2010 at 6:31 am

    OMG That’s awful, I would love to see the speakers face when that happened!


Leave a Reply

