dave's 365 project

Day 365/365: The End…..

Posted in People by Dave on January 1, 2011

So….this is it, the end. I can’t believe it. It all started on December 31st, 2009 when my friend Steve called and said I need to do this Project 365 with him. After he told me all about it, I said “have fun”. But the seed was planted. Then on January 1st he called again and talked me into it. So here we are 365 days later. What an incredible ride it’s been. Thanks Steve!

I also want to thank all the people that have been following along and giving me encouragement along the way. You sure made this a lot more fun. Sometimes you just made it bearable to continue. I have new friends from all over the world and it has been a real pleasure to follow you fellow 365’ers.

Most importantly, I want to thank my family for putting up with me all year! Liz helped me choose my POD almost every day. The kids helped me to shoot better and quicker. They limited me to 4 total shots of them per day. By the end of the project, I knew I could get a good shot of them within 4 clicks of the shutter.
I have learned to see the world differently as a result of this and a highly encourage anyone who is thinking about doing a 365 to do it. I won’t be doing another though!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. golden cindy said, on January 1, 2011 at 7:48 am

    YAY! Congrats! Everyone looks so happy it’s “The End”! Nice backdrop..

  2. drdesigns said, on January 1, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Congratulations on completing your 365 project. I’ve enjoyed following you all year. I was wondering yesterday what your final picture would be. You didn’t disappoint. Great last shot! Will you still keep your blog going?

    What the heck are you going to do with all your free time now?

    Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. Steve said, on January 1, 2011 at 10:21 am

    Congrats Dave! Not only did you complete the project, but you managed to produce some of your best work ever during the process as well. I thought the story of your girls limiting you to just 4 shots per day was hilarious, but I imagine that would really hone your skills on getting the good shot quickly!

    Your last picture of the year looks amazing by the way! It almost looks like a digital background, and I think it’s great you got the whole family in the shot too, since they were all such a big part of it.

    Now, onto creating your 365 coffee table book…. AND the 365 fitness challenge!

  4. Mel said, on January 1, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    Congrats on finishing!! I will miss your posts, I had so much fun following you this year! The girls look happy you are are fininshed, ha ha! Love the last shot – it’s awesome!

  5. Shelley said, on January 3, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Congrats on finishing the project. I’ve enjoyed viewing your amazing photos. I know you’re not blogging anymore but I was wondering if you’d take the time to answer a question. I’d really like to know how you put all your pics in the background. What software did you use? Was it difficult? Would appreciate any info you can give. Thanks.

  6. Dave said, on January 5, 2011 at 6:27 pm

    Hi Shelley, thank you for the compliments.
    I went analog rather than digital for the pictures on the background. I printed out all my pictures at 4×6 and then taped them to the wall. It turns out this was most most expensive and time consuming shot of the whole project!

    You can see it here:
    day 365 set up shot

  7. Stefano said, on July 24, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    I would like to use one of your images in an academic journal article. Can you please contact me right away if you are interested. Thanks.


Leave a comment